Fee increase for Vehicle Registration
Drivers will pay between $25 and $175 more for vehicle registrations at the Department of Motor Vehicles starting January 1, 2018 as part of SB 1, based on the vehicle's current value.
Recreational Use Marijuana
As of January 1, the sale and cultivation of recreational use marijuana will be legal in California.
Marijuana Use in Vehicles
Drivers are prohibited from smoking or ingesting marijuana products while driving or riding as a passenger in a vehicle effective January 1, 2018 as part of SB 65.
Minimum Wage Increased
Under SB 3, the minimum wage in California has increased to $11 per hour beginning January 1. The minimum wage will increase again to $12 per hour in 2019 and will increase by $1 each year to $15 in 2022.
California as a Sanctuary State
Beginning January 1, 2018, the ability of state and local police in California to cooperate with U.S. Immigrations and Customs Enforcement, or ICE agents is restricted with SB 54. Law enforcement officers will not be able to ask about someone's immigration status or hold them for ICE agents, unless that person has been convicted of a crime.
With AB 291, landlords are prohibited from reporting renters who are in the country illegally.
Sales of Ammunition
Ammunition purchases must be made in person through an authorized firearms and ammo vendor as of January 1, 2018 and AB 693 will still allow online sales of ammunition which must be shipped to a licensed vendor from whom the buyer can pick it up.
With the passage of SB 179, the requirement that people have to choose either male or female on their identification documents is removed. For those who do not identify as either male or female, transgender people will select "nonbinary" as an option beginning in 2019.
Schools have banned guns
A previous policy implemented in 2015 gave school administrators the ability to decide whether campus employees with concealed carry permits were allowed to bring their firearms to school. With the passage of AB 424, the new law does not permit firearms on campus altogether.
Seat belts on buses
If a bus is equipped with seat belts, anyone riding in a bus is required by law to be properly restrained by seat belts beginning July 1, 2018.Adults are prohibited from putting children between the ages of 8 and 16 on a bus unless they are properly restrained by a seat belt or a child passenger restraint system that meets federal safety standards with the passage of SB 20. Fines will be given for those violating this law.
High school exit exam
AB 830 permanently eliminates the high school exit exam as a condition of graduation. California did away with the lengthy exam in 2015 in an effort to rewrite it.
Diaper changing tables
Diaper changing stations will be a requirement in both women's and men's public bathrooms with the passage of AB 1127 and applies to new construction or restrooms that undergo significant renovations.
Pet stores can no longer sell dogs, cats or rabbits unless they are rescue animals with the passage of AB 485 to prevent puppy mills and mass breeding operations.
History of job salary
Employers can no longer ask job applicants about their salary history, compensation or benefits under AB 168. Employers are required to disclose pay scales for a job if asked by an applicant.
Free College for higher education
AB 19 means waiving the fee for first-time students who enroll in California community colleges.
Mail-In Ballots for everyone
With voter turnout declining, SB 450 was created to replace neighborhood polling locations with every voter receiving a mail-in ballot which they can take to a drop-off location up to four weeks before election day.
Tinting of car windows
Drivers with a medical condition certified by a dermatologist to tint their windshields, side and rear windows to protect them from the ultraviolet rays have AB 1303 passage to thank. Under the previous law all drivers were prohibited from having tint or any other material or display to reduce the driver's clear view through the windshield or side windows.
Under AB 390, pedestrians who cross a street while the red hand signal is flashing will no longer be penalized. Now, if the red hand signal appears and there is a countdown for how much time pedestrians have left to cross, walkers are legally permitted to cross.